10 November 2011

Wellcome Trust Book Prize: Winner Announced

'Turn of Mind’ by Alice LaPlante wins the Wellcome Trust Book Prize
The third Wellcome Trust Book Prize has been awarded to Alice LaPlante for her debut novel ‘Turn of Mind’, a tale of a family’s secrets exposed by murder and a brilliant mind in terminal decline.

It is the first work of fiction to win the Prize.

The shortlisted books were:

  • Turn of Mind by Alice LaPlante
  • The Two Kinds of Decay by Sarah Manguso
  • The Emperor of All Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee
  • State of Wonder by Ann Patchett
  • Nemesis by Philip Roth
  • My Dear I Wanted To Tell You by Louisa Young
The Wellcome Trust Book Prize is an annual prize of £25 000 that celebrates medicine in literature. The prize is open to books published in the UK over the period of one year, including works of fiction or non-fiction. Books published in English translation are eligible.

No comments:

Post a Comment