09 February 2015

The Folio Prize: 2015 shortlist

The eight titles on The Folio Prize shortlist announced today:

10:04 by Ben Lerner (Granta)

All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews (Faber)

Dept. of Speculation by Jenny Offill (Granta)

Dust by Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor (Granta)

Family Life by Akhil Sharma (Faber)

How to Be Both by Ali Smith (Hamish Hamilton)

Nora Webster by Colm Tóibín (Viking)

Outline by Rachel Cusk (Faber)


01 February 2015

The Sunday Times Short Story Award longlist

The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award longlist has been announced:

  • The Collected Tricks of Houdini by Rotimi Babatunde
  • The Ways by Colin Barrett
  • The Indian Uprising by Ann Beattie
  • Fat White Cop with Ginger Eyebrows by Louise Doughty
  • Qualities of the Modern Farmer by Emily Franklin
  • The Pier Falls by Mark Haddon
  • The Glove Maker’s Numbers by Rebecca F John
  • A Sheltered Woman by Yiyun Li
  • Hungry by Elizabeth McCracken
  • False River by Paula Morris
  • Interstellar Space by Scott O’Connor
  • Jules Verne Seeks Dreamers for Long-Distance Travel in Time by Mary O’Donoghue
  • The Referees by Joseph O’Neill
  • Lucky by Julianne Pachico
  • After the War, Before the War by David Peace
  • Holiday by Mona Simpson
  • Still Water, BC by Erin Soros
  • The Spiders of Stockholm by EJ Swift
  • The Wedding Cake by Madeleine Thien

The shortlist will be revealed in March and the winner will be announced on 24 April. 

Follow on Twitter: @ShortStoryAward 

27 January 2015

Costa Book of the Year 2014 Winner

Each of these five books have already won one of Costa’s individual category prizes:

Costa Novel Award
How to be both by Ali Smith

Costa First Novel Award
Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey

Costa Biography Award
H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald

Costa Poetry Award
My Family and Other Superheroes by Jonathan Edwards

Costa Children's Book Award
Five Children on the Western Front by Kate Saunders

And tonight the winner of Costa 2014 Book of the Year was announced:

H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald

Costa Book Awards