04 November 2011

Galaxy National Book Awards 2011: Winners Announced

The Galaxy National Book Awards honour the best books and authors of the year.

These are the 2011 winners:

Waterstone's UK Author of the Year:
The Stranger's Child by Alan Hollinghurst (Picador)

Outstanding Achievement award: Jackie Collins

Specsavers popular fiction book of the year:
A Tiny Bit Marvellous by Dawn French (Penguin)

More4 popular non-fiction book of the year:
How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran (Ebury Press)

Crime and thriller of the year (available on iBookstore):
Before I Go to Sleep by S J Watson (Doubleday)

Daily Telegraph biography of the year:
Charles Dickens by Claire Tomalin (Viking)

International author of the year:
A Visit From the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan (Corsair)

Food and drink book of the year:
The Good Cook by Simon Hopkinson (BBC Books)

WHSmith paperback of the year:
Room by Emma Donoghue (Picador)

National Book Tokens children's book of the year:
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (Walker Books)

Audible.co.uk audiobook of the year:
My Dear, I Wanted to Tell You by Louisa Young, read by Dan Stevens (HarperAudio)

Galaxy new writer of the year:
When God was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman (Headline Review)

The public will be able to vote to select their favourite from the winners as the overall Book of the Year. Voting closes on the 20th Dec and the winner will be announced shortly after.

No comments:

Post a Comment