18 May 2011

Philip Roth wins the Man Booker International Prize 2011

Literary giant wins fourth Man Booker International Prize

Philip Roth is today announced as the winner of the fourth Man Booker International Prize at a press conference at the Sydney Opera House.

The other contenders for the Man Booker International 2011 were:

Juan Goytisolo (Spain)
James Kelman (UK)
John le Carré (UK)
Amin Maalouf (Lebanon)
David Malouf (Australia)
Dacia Maraini (Italy)
Rohinton Mistry (India/Canada)
Philip Pullman (UK)
Marilynne Robinson (USA)
Su Tong (China)
Anne Tyler (USA)
Wang Anyi (China)

Roth's award will be celebrated at a formal dinner in London on 28 June 2011.

Watch Philip Roth's acceptance speech:

The Man Booker Prize

The Philip Roth Society

Profile: Philip Roth (via Guardian.co.uk)

A guide to Philip Roth  (Times Online)

No comments:

Post a Comment