30 March 2011

The Man Booker International Prize 2011: Finalists

John Le Carre on shortlist for international Booker Prize
John le Carre, the author of the George Smiley spy novels, has been shortlisted for the international Booker prize - despite having asked for his novels never to be considered for the main prize in the UK.

(link via telegraph.co.uk)

The Man Booker International Prize  is given to an author rather than a novel, and is awarded every two years for overall contribution to fiction.

Thirteen authors have made it on to the list of finalists for the fourth running of the prize. This year's finalists are:

Wang Anyi (China)
Juan Goytisolo (Spain)
James Kelman (UK)
John le Carre (UK)
Amin Maalouf (Lebanon)
David Malouf (Australia)
Dacia Maraini (Italy)
Rohinton Mistry (India/Canada)
Philip Pullman (UK)
Marilynne Robinson (US)
Philip Roth (US)
Su Tong (China)
Anne Tyler (US)

The Man Booker International Prize winner will be announced 18th May and the winner will be celebrated at an awards ceremony in London on 28th June 2011.

The Man Booker International Prize


  1. John le Carre's The Spy Who Came in fron the Cold and the Smiley trilogy are among my favourite books.
    The film adaption of the first and the TV series of two of the second were both excellent. Flighty xx

  2. Hi Flighty, He's written so many fabulous books! I liked "The Constant Gardener" although it's very sad. It's such a powerful story, and it was also made into an excellent film.